Naysayers and Body Shaming

So the other day I was at the Gym. Mind you my body is older It doesn’t look twenty anymore. Not to mention that life shows up on it now. I mean depression, sitting all day reading, scars from pregnancy really makes a woman not look that fit anymore.

So I was exercising two gorgeously fit women are also exercising. I keep doing my workout it was hot inside the air conditioner must have been out. The other women where wearing there sports bras so everyone could see because of the heat. I am not ashamed with my body I know what I look like and I know I could look better. Anyway one looked over at me after I took my shirt off so that I also was only in my sports bra. I look like the heat was getting to me, which it was. I observe people while I work out because well I do yoga and it is do the pose wait 15 to a minute 30 seconds move on to the next pose. One of the women looked me over (top to bottom) and started laughing. Not full blown outright fit but giggles none the less. So I gave her my biggest smile. You know reverse Sociology works. Her Eye brows raised, the laugh was wiped off her face. She was giving me this bewildered look. I just kept on doing my stretches and yoga poses as if nothing bothered me. But it really did hurt.

I was trying to get into shape. Really putting some effort into it. I had been doing it for several months. After that I lost all my gumption to want to go again also losing all my progress. I know what everyone is thinking I shouldn’t allow other people to put awful thoughts into my head. Yet, I don’t have a really good support group or good friends to help me dispel all the negativity with.  What other people think sinks in and ruins some of the good feeling  I had build up about working out and doing something good for my body. So I am going to try again. The next time I see them and if they laugh again. I will say a least I am here and not sitting around on my couch.

Wish I knew how to make friends. My husbands supportive but can’t go to the gym with me to many injuries with his back. I would like to have someone that would exercise with me.

Leave a Reply

