Update– Greenhouse and garden

I moved all my pots to the greenhouse. Went out and looked around for a good seed mix to start seeds in and could not find that coco stuff which is sad but oh well and used Peat instead. I know it isn’t very green of me, but I have a hard time with dampening off and I am not sticking compost into my oven it makes my whole house smell bad not to mention that I have to use a lot of compost and usually can’t cook enough for my needs so peat it is. I usually use peat and composted cow manure mix to plant seeds in. usually about 1/3 of a big cube of peat (this will last me 3 years about sometimes less if I am planting a lot of flowers also.)  I went out and got some reusable flats, and planted broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, herbs various kinds but this is my little pots of herbs for the kitchen, several varieties tomatoes, bell peppers and jalapeno. Most of these will take a week to 10 days to germinate.

Next week I am going out to the garden to plant carrots, lettuce (which I found many growing from seeds sown last year), kale, collards, swiss chard, radishes, spinach and peas( I am a little late planting these but hope they will produce before it gets to warm).  I am also going to start some flowers to companion plant with the vegetables.

I also need to finish a few more beds.  Putting down news paper to suppress the weeds and then leaves, manure, grass and then compost on top of that and then more leaves. The worms love my beds and the soil becomes so conditioned and perfect to grow things in. When I start to plant the vegetable this year I will remove the leaves put them aside plant the plants and put it back, or if direct seeding place to the side and then wait till they are growing and replace so that the water is retained I find this works really well. I always have to go around and find leaves for this project though and it is good to do so all year round.

Leave a Reply

