Gardening In February

I know I haven’t been keeping up with the gardening but I have to tell you I haven’t really done much and really should do more.  So I am trying my best to get into the spring of things.  In January I put up my 1st green house which isn’t much I bought it at Atwoods in Claremore. It is one of those little cheap $100 Push together pole  and throw over the plastic sewn cover walk in types. Which I don’t think I would buy again. May not last very long one of the pieces already is broke and another is weak because of a hole in it that isn’t supposed to be there but I though I will fill it in with putty or something, it still had to be put someplace not load bearing. So far haven’t put any seeds in it too cold not enough heat at night for the seedlings to survive.  It also needs a fan put in it. Have been filling containers of water to place in there to conserve heat  and moved my potting soil and other tools inside so that I can get to them I think I will put a container in it to hold all my stuff that isn’t plants.

I started to go into the garden and fill in many beds. There was a bed I was going to use for a cold frame well I  wasn’t able to finish it due to the fact that I didn’t have everything I needed on hand and the car kept breaking down so all the money went to that last fall. I think that next year I am going to try something that will make it a bit easier to handle using 4 bales of hay that I can move around to fit the windows I have.  Also build a frame for those windows so that I can place one or more of those openers for greenhouses in it to let out the heat during the hotter days.

I went through all my seeds. Cataloging what I have and writing down my wants and needs.  So here soon I am going to start the seed flats for the seedlings.

I have also started pulling everything off my compost pile to get at all the rich material underneath to put in my beds. Also last year we found a person whom had so many bags of leaves I though I was in heaven and I am placing those on top of the bed to bring in my lovely beneficials such as worms, and fungus and bacterial that will make the soil healthy.  This may also help with some of the pests and it may not. I had such a problem last year with these little yellow and black beetles I just wanted to throw my hands up at everything. I actually had to bring in an organic based pesticide to kill them off they where eating everything from my tomatoes to the peppers, potatoes and other vegetable and even the marigold they wouldn’t touch the onions and I thought I had a way to combat them but no they just kept eating.  I had them in such numbers that I was stepping on them and they decimated several plants that I had to pull out after trying hard to save them.  Also did you know that the humming bird moth is actually the dreaded tomato horn worm Caterpillar . Such beautiful creatures and good pollinators to destroy a plant I  want to eat. Having to go out there everymorning to find these things and pluck them off and kill them. I think this year I am going with a bacteria BT to be exact to get rid of them.

But I am going to keep everyone more informed about my garden. So watch for future posts and pictures.

1 Comment

  1. March 1, 2012 at 04:01

    I truly enjoy examining on this site, it has got excellent blog posts. “A man of genius has been seldom ruined but by himself.” by Samuel Johnson.


Leave a Reply

