The Circus

This last Thursday my family and I went to the circus I had been to a circus before and thought it would be entertaining for my whole family. Well my son decided he didn’t want to go so we didn’t make him although I still feel as if we left him out. We got there and paid for our tickets and since we were early noticed they had set up animal rides. So we set out to see how much it cost and bought a elephant ride for our daughter Salena. She went around twice and petted the elephants head my husband noticed that the elephant look rather bored and sad I had to agree that she did indeed looked bored. Anyway she got down and we went around to the seat via the concessions on the way there our daughter asked if she could get a light up sword and of course we did but told her we could not afford to buy much more. Then we took our sets. It seems like it took awhile for the show to start but we did arrive rather early. Once the show started we got to see a cat trainer and his Bengal Tigers some Yellow some white about ten in all. Some large some small and they all had their tricks and they all wanted to play with the trainers stick that he put meat. It was neat.
Then we heard the roar of an engine and then on a tight rope a motor cycle moved up it attached to it was this metal trapeze with two women. The women preformed many different tricks some upside down splits, one where one women twirled hanging from the back of her neck and head, Some of the trick where really aw inspiring while others not so much.
From there we saw a clown act which was quite the comedy he used stuffed animals at the end one stuffed animal was actually a dog dressed as an elephant and not a wind up toy. My husband and I agreed that was one smart dog to be able to pull off everything it did.
We saw an elephant act with 3 elephants sitting and stomping around their circle do a variety of tricks with each other. Another act of rope tricks with women doing so aerial acrobatics on ropes and still another act with cloth and trapezes. The night was full of wonder.

But I do have to say that it was the most commercialized circus that I have ever been too. Between acts they constantly pushed the vendors selling the various toys, cotton candy, popcorn and drinks. During the intermission there where the rides, and after intermission was the coloring books. All in all, I can say we had fun but at the same time felt like we spent way too much money and I felt as if I was constantly under attack to buy things for my child that she really didn’t need that she wanted just because everyone else was getting it I had to say no way to much. I did break a couple of times to get cotton candy and a water.

Some times I just want to have fun with out spending an arm and a leg. We had fun and I wished we would have brought the camera just to capture those rare moments that were all together memorable.

Leave a Reply

